Head Spa in Tokyo: How to Book in English (and What to Do If Goku no Kimochi Is Full)

Head spa in Tokyo: a Japanese mom relieved after booking a salon in English on her phone Travel & Sightseeing
This article contains affiliate links.

You’ve watched the scalp massages, foam, and flowing water on TikTok. Now you want to book a head spa in Tokyo—but the reservation page is in Japanese, or Goku no Kimochi is full for your dates.

This guide mainly covers dry head spas, with shampoo-based options in Tokyo and Kyoto clearly marked. You can compare the treatment, location, and booking conditions, then choose an English-language reservation page.

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you book through one, I may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.

My own head spa experience was at my regular salon. This list compares the five salons’ published services and booking conditions; you’ll find my personal experience below.

Dry Head Spa or Shampoo Head Spa? Pick Your Type First

Dry head spa versus shampoo head spa: hands-on massage with no water on the left, wash and treatment with drying time on the right

If you’re picturing the foam and rinsing you saw online, start with a shampoo head spa. A dry head spa focuses on hands-on massage without a shampoo session, so choosing the type first helps you find the experience you’re looking forward to.

Goku no Kimochi is a dry head spa: it uses neither water nor oil. Other dry treatments may include a scalp spray. For shampoo treatments, check the course description and photos for the particular water feature you liked in the video.

Dry treatments skip washing and blow-drying, making them easier to fit between sightseeing plans. Shampoo treatments need drying time, which may already be included in the advertised duration. Compare the whole appointment time so you know when you can head out again.

Why You Can’t Just Walk In (and How Klook Fixes That)

Four steps to book a Tokyo head spa in English: pick treatment and date, read inclusions and cancellation, enter details and check total, wait for confirmation

Many salons work by appointment, using Japanese booking pages, LINE, or Instagram messages; some also ask for a Japanese phone number. You may find a walk-in opening, but reserving ahead gives the salon time to arrange your therapist and treatment space.

If the booking process is where you’ve got stuck, let me help with the next step. Knowing how a salon works makes the visit easier—the same way it helps to know the etiquette before you walk into a restaurant.

Klook lets you complete the booking and read the cancellation conditions in English. Choose a supported currency and check the final total at checkout.

  1. Open the salon’s link and select your treatment, date, time, and number of guests.
  2. Read that package’s inclusions, age rules, cancellation deadline, and confirmation time.
  3. Enter the requested guest and contact details, then check the amount before paying.
  4. Wait for confirmation and follow your voucher’s instructions for visiting.

Keep the confirmation and address where you can find them on your phone. For bookings that need approval, wait for the confirmation before setting off; the comparison table below shows how long each salon allows for this.

Can You Book Goku no Kimochi?

How to try booking Goku no Kimochi: official reservation page, LINE cancellation waitlist if full, then check your confirmation

Yes—try its official reservation page and LINE cancellation waitlist. If this is the salon you’ve been looking forward to, you don’t have to give up before checking those routes.

Goku no Kimochi opened in Kyoto in 2008 as a specialist head-massage salon. Its October 2025 notice described Kyoto, Shinsaibashi, Harajuku, and Ginza as full through the three-month booking window, with roughly 720,000 people waiting and new LINE slots typically filling in about one minute. Those figures describe the operator’s dated announcement; check the reservation page for openings during your trip.

  1. Open the official reservation page and check your preferred location and dates.
  2. Follow its LINE cancellation-waitlist link if suitable slots are unavailable.
  3. If you secure a slot, check the confirmation details before planning your visit.

The official FAQ says last-minute cancellations appear directly on the website, and telephone reservations have been discontinued. Keep checking online if your dates are flexible; otherwise, the salons below give you other appointments to explore.

The brand also has New York and Hong Kong locations. For its Japanese branches, use the official reservation route above.

5 Head Spas in Tokyo & Kyoto You Can Book in English

Simple map of head spa locations in Ebisu, Ginza, Shinjuku and Ueno in Tokyo, plus Katsura near Arashiyama in Kyoto

Here’s a quick way to narrow things down: the first three salons offer dry treatments, while MEGURU and YAYOI BRAINS GRANDE include shampooing. Start with your preferred type, then compare locations and booking conditions.

Prices and booking conditions below were recorded on September 5, 2026. Prices are starting points, not quotes for every course; availability and conditions can change. “Book for up to” shows the booking quantity or group limit, not shared-room capacity. For a group visit, ask about simultaneous treatment and a shared room before booking.

Salon / area Type and courses Starting price Free cancellation before appointment Confirmation Book for up to Age
UTATANE / Ebisu, Tokyo Dry; 20/40/70/90 min from around US$66 72 hours Within 24 hours 2 12+
Headmint VIP / Ginza, Tokyo Dry; basic or carbonated 50 min; hand, foot, or gua sha options 60 min; premium 80 min from around US$51 48 hours Within 48 hours 3 12+
La HEAD / Shinjuku, Tokyo Dry; BASIC or AROMA, each 60/90/120 min from around US$106 24 hours Within 24 hours 1 Not specified
MEGURU / Ueno, Tokyo Shampoo; relaxation courses 75/90/120 min; other hair/scalp courses; hand-and-foot aroma option 90 min from around US$122 48 hours Within 48 hours 4 12+
YAYOI BRAINS GRANDE / Katsura, Kyoto Shampoo; Platinum or VEENA Shampoo Course; listing range 45 min–2 hr, including drying from around US$51 24 hours Instant 2 Not specified

DRYHEADSPA UTATANE (Ebisu)

UTATANE is a useful starting point if English support matters to you. The listing specifies English-speaking staff and an English menu, with dry treatments using a carbonated scalp spray and warm Japanese tea afterward.

Courses run for 20, 40, 70, or 90 minutes, with two-person visits accommodated. The recorded rating was 5.0 from five reviews, alongside more than 100 bookings. Select your preferred duration to see its price on Klook.

The address is Ebisu Mansion 407, 1-2-1 Ebisu-Nishi, Shibuya-ku, near Ebisu Station. Run by Bare Skin — the head spa is on the 4th floor (Room 407) and the company’s main office is on the 7th, so don’t worry if the sign downstairs says Bare Skin.

Headmint VIP (Ginza)

Headmint is one of the lower-priced choices here, with private rooms and reservations for two. Its dry massage covers the head, face, neck, shoulders, arms, and hands, while the menu offers basic, carbonated, and additional-care options.

The salon says more than 95% of guests fall asleep during treatment. If you’re hoping for a quiet break between Ginza shops, take a look at the available courses on Klook.

You’ll find it in Daiichi Ginza Building. An unannounced delay of 10 minutes or more is treated as a cancellation with a full charge, so contact the operator as soon as you know you’re running late.

La HEAD (Shinjuku)

La HEAD suits a solo appointment in a fully private room, with dry treatment and no shampooing. BASIC and AROMA courses each offer 60, 90, and 120 minutes; tea, towels, slippers, and a locker are included.

The listing showed next-day booking when checked, with confirmation within 24 hours. Open the calendar for your date, then leave enough time to reach the salon: arrivals 15 minutes or more late are treated as cancellations.

With no wash-and-dry stage, you can plan your next sightseeing stop afterward. Choose your preferred course and check the available appointments on Klook.

MEGURU (Ueno)

MEGURU offers shampoo-based care in a fully private setting, with up to four people bookable. Its treatment sequence moves from warm cleansing to a non-foaming wash and then foam care.

The relaxation courses run for 75, 90, or 120 minutes, alongside other hair-and-scalp packages and a 90-minute option with hand-and-foot aroma care. Open the package details on Klook to choose the combination you’d enjoy.

The address is Ueno 4-5-5. Aim to arrive within the five minutes before your appointment, as the salon asks guests not to come earlier. Late arrivals may receive a shorter treatment, so keep the address handy before leaving your previous stop.

YAYOI BRAINS GRANDE (Kyoto, Katsura)

YAYOI BRAINS GRANDE is the Kyoto option for shampoo and hair care, with a semi-private head-spa area and bookings for one or two people. Its official care page records its national head-spa grand-prix award.

The salon sits by Katsura Station, a seven-minute train ride from Arashiyama according to its listing. Add your walk and waiting time when planning the journey, or check the direct bus option from Kyoto Station.

Klook offers Platinum and VEENA Shampoo courses with English-speaking staff and drying included. The listing’s overall duration is 45 minutes to two hours; ask for your chosen course’s finishing time when planning your day. Styling costs extra, so confirm the finish you want and its price.

Instant confirmation makes this a useful option to check for a near-term Kyoto appointment. Compare the two courses and available times on Klook.

Which One Is Right for You?

Four ways to choose a head spa: arrival day or tomorrow, family or friends, smaller budget, fully private room

You can fit this around the day you already have planned. Start with the situation closest to yours, then open that salon’s calendar.

For arrival day or tomorrow: check La HEAD in Tokyo or YAYOI BRAINS GRANDE in Kyoto first for their shorter confirmation times. Reserve ahead for arrival day, leaving room for flight delays and hotel check-in; with tired children along, I’d keep that first day especially gentle. My Japan 10-day budget guide can help you plan your first-day activities and spending.

For family or friends: UTATANE accommodates two people together, Headmint accepts reservations for two, and MEGURU lets you book for up to four. If being in the same room would help everyone feel at ease, ask the salon about room arrangements before booking.

For a smaller budget: start with Headmint for dry massage or YAYOI for shampoo-based care, both from around US$51. Compare the included treatments and duration to see which fits your plans.

For a fully private room: choose La HEAD for dry massage or MEGURU for shampoo-based care. Pick the one that matches how you want to spend your break.

What It’s Actually Like: My Head Spa at My Regular Salon

A Japanese mom relaxing during a head spa at her regular hair salon

I’ve had a head spa at my regular salon, and it was really relaxing and felt so good. My face felt lifted, too—at least that’s how it felt to me.

If searching for a specialist shop feels like another task on your travel list, a regular hair salon is another option. Mine offers head spa on its menu; if you aren’t planning a haircut, ask whether you can book the treatment on its own.

What to Check Before You Book

A few details now can save you a rushed trip across town later. Check your total time at the salon, including consultation, changing, and drying, then leave room before your next appointment.

For dry treatments, it’s easy to build the visit into a sightseeing day. If you’re heading straight back out, my autumn clothing guide can help you dress for the rest of your plans.

Read the confirmation window and cancellation deadline separately. Confirmation ranges from instant to within 48 hours in this list, and free-cancellation deadlines range from 24 to 72 hours before the appointment. Save your selected package’s terms with the booking.

Tipping is not expected in Japan; a sincere thank-you is enough for an ordinary salon visit. Check the package total and any optional extras instead. JNTO tipping guide

If you’re pregnant, tell the salon before booking and ask about its policy and treatment position. For a child’s treatment, check the age column above and ask the salon if no minimum age is listed.

FAQ

Do men go to head spas in Japan?

Yes. Men use head spas too, so you can simply choose the treatment you’d enjoy and check the package’s booking conditions.

Will it mess up my hair or makeup?

Massage can move your hair around, and a towel or face treatment may affect makeup. Leave a little time to tidy up afterward; for shampoo courses, check whether finishing means basic drying or separately charged styling.

Can I bring a child who is not having a treatment?

As a mom, I’d ask about a waiting space and whether another adult needs to stay with my child. UTATANE, Headmint, and MEGURU list treatments for ages 12 and up; arrangements for younger children who are only accompanying you need a separate inquiry.

Do I need to remove contact lenses?

Goku no Kimochi says most guests keep theirs in, and suggests removing them if they feel dry or uncomfortable. For another salon, ask before the treatment begins so you can get comfortable.

Do the staff speak English?

An English booking page and an English-speaking therapist are separate things. UTATANE lists English-speaking staff and an English menu, and YAYOI lists English-speaking staff; for the other salons, ask what language support is available when booking.

You can keep requests simple. Pointing or a translation app can help you explain your preferred pressure or an area you don’t want touched; ask the therapist to confirm they understand before starting.

Missing Japan Already? Head Spas Back Home

You can look for a head spa close to home, even if another Japan trip is still some way off. Try “Japanese head spa near me,” or explore Klook’s head-spa experiences in Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok, and Hong Kong, including Japanese- and Korean-labelled options — search head spa experiences on Klook. Check the individual treatment for dry massage or shampoo-based care.

If you’re also missing Japan’s everyday beauty discoveries, my Japanese drugstore skincare guide is another place to browse. You can keep a little of that holiday curiosity going at home.

Final Thoughts

Booking a head spa in Tokyo starts with one choice: dry massage or shampoo-based care. From there, choose a salon near your plans and check the course, time, and confirmation details—you don’t have to squeeze it into an already full day.

If Goku no Kimochi is your first choice, try its official reservation route. If your dates don’t work, explore the other salons above; my seven-step Japan planning guide can help you fit the visit into your wider itinerary.

Check DRYHEADSPA UTATANE (Ebisu) on Klook

Does your country have Japanese head spas, and have you tried one? Tell me in the comments what the experience was like.

I hope this guide has answered one of your questions and helped you feel a little closer to Japan. May your Japan journey be filled with wonderful discoveries and memories you’ll treasure for years to come.

See you in the next guide.

Comments